Troubleshooting: Removing Mylio, or Parts of Mylio, From a Machine

Mylio, like most applications, has four main parts: The application, the content, the application data, and the account. This article will show you how to remove individual parts of Mylio from your machine in instances where you might want to start over.

  Warning:  Before proceeding, please make sure you have a backup of your photo library.

If you are trying to restart in Mylio please see this article.

Uninstall on Mac

Mylio Application

To remove the Mylio application, ensure that Mylio is closed and then drag the Mylio application to the trash bin in the dock. Alternatively, you can select the Mylio application in the Applications folder and press Command+Delete on the keyboard. 

  Note:   the Applications folder is the default install location for Mylio, but you may have put it somewhere else when first installing– it is important to search in this location when attempting to delete Mylio from your Mac.
 

 Mylio Content

Mylio content on your computer includes all photos that were added to Mylio via the Import command excluding things imported using the Source Folder and Lightroom options.  It also includes all generated Thumbnails and Previews, as well as all edits. By deleting Mylio content you may be deleting Original photos. It is highly recommended that you ensure you have a copy of your photos before proceeding. We are not able to recover lost photos. 

Mylio content is, by default, stored in the user home folder. This can be accessed by opening Finder, clicking the Go menu in the top menu bar, and selecting Home. Delete the folder called Mylio to delete all Mylio content. 

  Note:   the user folder is the default location for Mylio Content, but you may put it somewhere else when first installing.

 Mylio Application Data

Mylio application data holds important information about your library, like where your photos are actually stored, your tags, and your logs for our support team. Sometimes, the support team may ask you to delete this information. Please note that by deleting this, you will not lose content but may lose tags and albums within Mylio. 

Application data for Mylio can be found in the user-level library. Follow the steps below to remove this data completely.

  • First, ensure Mylio is closed.
  • Open Finder and navigate to the Go option in the menu bar at the top of the screen.
  • With the Go menu open, hold the Option key on the keyboard.
  • This shows a new icon in the drop down, Library. Select Library to open the user library.
  • Locate the Application Support folder within the user library, open it, and select the Mylio folder.
  • Delete this folder by dragging it to the trash or selecting it and pressing Command+Delete. 

Mylio Account

Your Mylio account includes your login information, a record of the devices registered to your account, and your account catalog. If this information is deleted it is not recoverable and you will have to create new login information if you wish to use Mylio again.

  1. Navigate to http://account.mylio.com in your browser.
  2. Login to your Mylio account using your email and password.
  3. Select Cancel Subscription if you are currently subscribed to a Mylio plan.
  4. Select Delete Account to fully delete your Mylio account. Follow the steps listed on your account page to confirm the deletion of your account.

Uninstall on Windows

Mylio Application

Windows 8 and 8.1

To remove the Mylio application, ensure that Mylio is closed. Locate Mylio in the Apps list. Right-click on the Mylio application and click Uninstall in the bottom menu bar. 

Windows 7

To remove the Mylio application, ensure that Mylio is closed. Navigate to Control Panel > Programs > Uninstall a Program. Locate Mylio in the list in and click Uninstall.

 Mylio Content

Mylio content on your computer includes all photos that were added to Mylio via the Import command excluding things imported using the Source Folder and Lightroom options.  It also includes all generate thumbnails and previews, as well as all edits. By deleting Mylio content you may be deleting original photos. It is highly recommended that you ensure you have a copy of your photos before proceeding. We are not able to recover lost photos. 

Mylio content is, by default, stored in the user folder. This can be located by opening File Explorer, selecting the user, and locating the Mylio folder. The Mylio folder can be dragged to the Recycle Bin or, right-click > delete the Mylio folder.

Mylio Application Data

Mylio application data holds important information about your library, like where your photos are actually stored, your tags, and your logs for our support team. Sometimes, the support team may ask you to delete this information. Please note that by deleting this, you will not lose content but may lose tags and albums within Mylio. 

Application data can be found in the user’s AppData folder. To get here, follow the steps below:

  • On your desktop, press the Windows+R keys to bring up the Run window.
  • In the field, type in %localappdata% and press Enter.
  • This will bring up a file explorer window and find the Mylio folder.
  • Delete this folder by highlighting it and pressing the Delete key or  by dragging it to the trash.

Mylio Account

Your Mylio account includes your login information, a record of the devices registered to your account, and your account catalog. If this information is deleted it is not recoverable and you will have to create new login information if you wish to use Mylio again.

  1. Navigate to http://account.mylio.com in your browser.
  2. Login to your Mylio account using your email and password.
  3. Select ‘Cancel Subscription’ if you are currently subscribed to a Mylio plan.
  4. Select ‘Delete Account’ to fully delete your Mylio account. Follow the steps listed on your account page to confirm the deletion of your account.

7 People found this helpful. Did you?