Troubleshooting: Resetting and Starting Mylio Over

This article will walk you through either starting over with Mylio on one specific device or starting Mylio over on all devices. Before doing so, it is important to understand the main parts of Mylio:

  1. Mylio Library – This is where your photos are actually stored. By default, this is within the Mylio folder in your user folder.
  2. Mylio Catalog – This is where information about your library is stored, like how many photos you have and your organization. This is synced between machines.
  3. Mylio Account – This tells Mylio how many devices you have, what they are, and keeps them up to date.

Resetting Mylio will reset your Mylio Catalog and possibly your Mylio Account. You will need to decide if you would like to delete the Mylio Library or not, depending on if you have your photos protected to other locations.

Start Over on One Device

Completing these steps will allow you to sign in to Mylio as if it were a brand new device.

  1. Open Mylio and select Help from the Navigation panel.
  2. Select Show Support Options on Startup.
  3. Reopen the Mylio application.
  4. Select Factory Reset Mylio from the Support Options dialog.
  5. Follow the on-screen instructions to completely reset your device.
  6. Once reset, navigate to https://account.mylio.com to log in to your Mylio account.
  7. Select the “X” next to the device that you have reset to remove it from your account.

Once reset, you can choose to delete the Mylio Library (by default saved to your user) or rename it. If you have only synced thumbnails and previews, deleting it is usually best. If you have synced Originals, be sure those images are on other devices before deleting them.

  Warning:   always be sure your Original images are safe on multiple devices before deleting them from your computer!

Start Over on All Devices

Doing this will:

  1. Delete all information from Mylio’s servers.
  2. Unregister all devices from your account.
  3. Log out of Mylio on all devices.
  4. Remove all Mylio data (albums, events, people).

There are two steps to resetting your account and starting over in Mylio:

Reset Cloud Data

  1. Login to your Mylio Account at http://account.mylio.com.
  2. Locate the Restart Account button listed on this page.
  3. Follow the instructions here to reset any Mylio data and restart your account.

Reset Mylio Application

Once your cloud data has been reset, your Mylio applications will alert you that you have been signed out.

  1. Open Mylio and select Help from the Navigation panel.
  2. Select Show Support Options on Startup.
  3. Reopen the Mylio application.
  4. You’ll be shown the Support Options dialog.
  5. Select Factory Reset Mylio.
  6. Follow the on-screen instructions to completely reset your device.

Once reset, you can choose to delete the Mylio Library (by default saved to your user) or rename it. If you have only synced thumbnails and previews, deleting it is usually best. If you have synced Originals, be sure those images are on other devices before deleting them.

  Warning:   always be sure your Original images are safe on multiple devices before deleting them from your computer!

11 People found this helpful. Did you?