Integrating Mylio with Lightroom

  Note:   this is a premium feature available to paid Mylio subscribers. Learn more about the benefits of upgrading your Mylio account here.

Like Mylio, Lightroom is a non-destructive photo editing application. This means edits made in Lightroom are not written to the photo themselves, but to the Lightroom catalog where the edits are applied to the photos in real time.

While Mylio has the ability to import from Lightroom, this import is done on the photos themselves and not to the Lightroom catalog. This means that Mylio will not, by default, see any edits that you have made in Lightroom. For your edits to be seen by Mylio, you must tell Lightroom to write edits to a sidecar file, called an XMP, that Mylio can also read and write to.

  Note:  for a full list of Lightroom edits that Mylio can see, please see this list.

  Note:  for additional information on XMP files, please see this article.

Enabling XMP files in Lightroom

  1. Open Lightroom and navigate to Catalog Settings. This is found under the Lightroom menu on Mac or the Edit menu on Windows.
  2. Navigate to the Metadata tab at the top of the Catalog Settings pane.
  3. Check the box that says Automatically write changes to XMP.

Lightroom XMP Changes

Once this has been checked, any new edits made in Lightroom will be made to both the XMP file and the Lightroom catalog.

Enabling Mylio to retroactively see Lightroom edits

After enabling XMP files in Lightroom, any new edit will automatically be written to both the XMP file and the Lightroom catalog. However, edits that have previously been made before this setting was changed will not be written to XMPs automatically. This means that Mylio will not see these edits until they are written to an XMP. XMPs can be created for all photos with previous edits by following these steps…

  Warning:  these steps will create a XMP sidecar file for each photo that has been edited in Lightroom. While XMP sidecar files are very small, they are visible and accessible from within the file system. Some users may not desire this outcome. If this applies to you, or you are unsure if this applies to you, you may want to try the following steps with selecting a single or limited number of photos instead of selecting all photos in step #2.

  1. Select All Photographs from the left navigation pane of Lightroom’s Library view.
  2. Select all images by using Edit > Select All.
  3. Select Save Metadata to File from within the Metadata menu.
  4. Wait for this action to complete. It may take multiple minutes depending on the size of your Lightroom Library.

Once all metadata has been saved to XMP files, Mylio will automatically see all edits it has the ability to see and display them within Mylio. Edits that cannot be seen in Mylio can be sent to Mylio by rendering a display JPG with the Mylio plugin.

Importing Your Lightroom Library

Many Mylio users may use Lightroom to edit photos. Lightroom’s default assumption is that no other program is reviewing the edits of the Lightroom pictures. Mylio can recognize a Lightroom library and display any changes made to the Lightroom library, displaying those changes instantly in Mylio. Mylio can also save changes back to Lightroom, although the user must tell Lightroom to display the edits.

In order to do this, follow these steps:

  1. Open Mylio.
  2. Add a Lightroom folder by using the Import command in the Navigation panel. 
  3. Mylio will display the Lightroom images, and display any changes made (and saved) in Lightroom.

Displaying Mylio Edits in Lightroom

If a photo is edited in Mylio and you want those changes to be reflected in Lightroom, do the following:

  1. Edit and save the file in Mylio.
  2. Open Lightroom.
  3. Select the photo that you have made edits to.
  4. Right click on the photo(s).
  5. Select Metadata.
  6. Select Read Metadata from File.

6 People found this helpful. Did you?