Protecting Media to Google Drive

Mylio allows you to protect your photos to the cloud by protecting your library with Google Drive. Once this feature is enabled, any media within your Mylio Library will automatically be protected to Google Drive. If your device is lost, stolen, or broken you can retrieve all synced media from Google Drive and fully repopulate your Mylio Library – including photos, videos, files, metadata, albums, events, tags, and any other Mylio specific data. Google Drive can also be used to populate Mylio on computers that are not able to be synced peer-to-peer.

Once Google Drive has been added as a Vault it will be listed in the Devices section of the Dashboard. Unlike other Vaults, protecting your files to Google Drive does not give you the ability to edit data within Google Drive for reflection in Mylio. This feature is designed solely as a tool for Mylio to communicate with and is not an alternative uploader for Google Drive.

 

Uploading Encrypted vs Unencrypted

Before deciding on an encryption method, it is important to understand that Mylio utilizes Google Drive as a Vault for your files. Mylio does not preserve your file structure when uploading, and changes should not be made to the uploaded files on the Google Drive website (even if uploaded unencrypted). This protection method is solely meant to protect your Mylio Library and not designed to give compatibility between the two services.

Uploading Encrypted


Mylio’s default behavior is to upload your photos as encrypted files. If your images are uploaded encrypted, Mylio will encrypt your files in a way that Google is not able to read these images, keeping your library fully secure. This ensures the highest level of protection as Mylio is the sole key to locking and unlocking your images.

Encrypted Google Drive protection uploads your files as “other files” and not “photos”, which means you will see a series of “.bin” files in your Google Drive. These are your encrypted files.

Mylio protects your images in the cloud with AES 256bit encryption. Only you Mylio account can be used to unencrypt these images.

Uploading Unencrypted


Mylio will upload your files directly to Google in full, original quality. These images will upload as their actual file-extension and be viewable by Google. Mylio will not be needed to view your images. However, your file structure and folder structure will not be visible in Google Drive.

Working with Google Drive in Mylio

Setting Up Google Protection

1. Open Mylio on a computer and open the Dashboard.

2. Select the plus sign in the top right of the Devices section of the Dashboard.

 

3. Select Google Drive.

4. Mylio will display the Add Cloud Storage options. Here, you can decide if you wish to upload your files as encrypted or unencrypted. Once decided, select Add Google Drive at the bottom of this window.

 

5. Sign into the Google account that you wish to protect your files to.

6. Once signed in, Mylio will display Google Drive within the Dashboard as a Vault.

Restoring Mylio from Google


In some cases, you may need to restore your Mylio Library from Google Drive. This may happen if your device is lost, stolen, broken, or if you are starting Mylio on a remote device that cannot connect to another device via a peer-to-peer connection. By signing in to your Mylio account that has previously been protected to Google Drive, Mylio will automatically download your media in the quality designated by your device’s default Sync Policy. You can adjust the Sync Policy for individual files or folders if you wish to keep higher or lower quality photos on your device.

  1. Open and sign in to the Mylio account previously associated with Google Drive.
  2. Open the Dashboard and ensure Google Drive is listed as a Vault.
  3. Mylio will automatically begin to download your Mylio catalog and library to the new device.
      Note:  this process may take time. To speed up syncing connect to another device via a peer-to-peer connection that has your Mylio Library.

 

Unregistering Google

If you wish to unregister Google Drive as a location that Mylio can sync to, you can do so from the service’s device preferences. By unregistering Google Drive, you will prevent Mylio from protecting any new media to Google Drive. Media currently on Google Drive will not be removed from the service.

  Warning:   If Google Drive is unregistered and then set up again your library will need to fully resync to the service.
  1. Open Mylio’s Dashboard and navigate to the Devices section.
  2. Select Google Drive and open the Device Settings menu.
  3. Select Unregister Device.
  4. Confirm that you would like to unregister the device by typing in your Mylio password.